My Little Diversions

The things I love

Banh Mi August 10, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — mylittlediversions @ 2:30 pm
Tags: , , , ,

image

I know it’s been a couple of weeks since my last post and I apologize. Time has been flying here and I really have not been doing anything aside from work and sleep.

Anyway, I hope that this recipe makes up for my neglect, at least a little bit.

Last week we had bahn mis for dinner. If you have never had a banh mi, a vietnamese sandwich, I recommend trying one. If you like asian flavors and sandwiches then you can’t really go wrong with this easy recipe.

I know out seems like a lot of ingredients but they all work well together. If you feel like making it spicier you can always add sliced jalapeños.

Bahn Mi:
1 pork loin
1-2 tbsp sweet chili sauce with garlic
2 tbsp teriyaki sauce
1/2 tbsp sriracha
Shredded carrots
Cucumber, thinly sliced
Rice wine vinegar
Cilantro
Finely sliced red onion
Mayonnaise
Sriracha
Sweet chili sauce
French baguette or any crusty bread

Place pork loin in dish and coat with next three ingredients.
Cook at 350° for about 25 minutes or until thermometer reaches 156°.
When it’s finished cover with foil and let rest for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile let the carrots and cucumbers soak in the rice vinegar to get a quick pickle.

When pork is finished (and rested) slice in 1/4 in. slices.
Spread mayonnaise, chili sauce and sriracha in baguette (all to taste). Add pork, cucumbers, carrots, cilantro and onion. Top with a squeeze of lime if desired and enjoy!

–Aly

 

Leave a Reply

