My Little Diversions

The things I love

Ice Cream Bread June 29, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — mylittlediversions @ 8:54 am
Tags: , , , , ,

So I stumbled across this recipe about a month ago and I could not believe that this bread is only two ingredients. I had to read it over twice just to be sure I didn’t miss anything!

When I made this I used Bunny Tracks ice cream but I’m sure any kind would be just as fantastic. I do think that using an ice cream with chunks is great because you get those little nuggets of sweetness throughout the bread. Other than finding these bits of sugar, the bread is not sweet. It has the sweetness of a scone and is not overly dense.

I have to admit that after making this bread I began to think about the different recipes I can create with self-rise flour. I believe the creations might be endless.

Ice Cream Bread

2 Cups (or 1 pint) Ice Cream, any flavor, softened
1 1/2 cups Self-Rising Flour

Preheat your oven to 350. Spray and flour a 8 x 4 loaf pan.
In a medium bowl mix the ice cream and flour together until just combined.
Scoop into the loaf and and smooth out.
Bake for about 45 minutes or until a toothpick stuck in the loaf comes out with a few crumbs stuck to it. The bread will not brown so the toothpick test is really best.
Remove from the pan and allow to cool.

I hope you make this easy bread! Let me know what ice cream you use!

–Aly

 

Leave a Reply

