My Little Diversions

The things I love

Tasty Shredded Pork Tacos May 9, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — mylittlediversions @ 6:39 pm
Tags: , , , ,

image

I decided to actually cook this weekend so on Saturday I made Mexican food (and margaritas) to celebrate Cinco de Mayo. When I make tacos I have a go-to recipe for easy pork ones. I started making this a few years ago when we were searching for slow cooker meals for our new crock pot.

Now, I must admit that I love slow cooker meals because:
1. They are almost always (for me anyway) one pot meals
2. They are really easy, and
3. I can put it together before work and it’s done when I get home.
Also, my husband likes that the meat is always tender.

This recipe is easy and delicious and should be altered to your tastes.

One pork roast
1 can beer
One can of hot Ro-Tel, undrained
One can of mild Ro-Tel, drained
2 tsp cumin
2 tsp garlic powder
2 tsp onion powder
2 tsp hot chili powder

Place roast in slow cooker. Pour beer over roast. Add spices and turn roast to coat. Add both cans of Ro-Tel and cook on high for 4 hours, or on low for 7.
When roast is done, remove from cooker and shred (or shred in cooker). Place pork back in cooker and let simmer for 20 to 30 more minutes.

I typically serve this on corn tortillas with refried black beans and thinly sliced red onion.

This is a nice easy weeknight meal as well and can be made with beef or chicken.

I hope you enjoy!
–Aly

 

Leave a Reply

