My Little Diversions

The things I love

Cinco de Mayo-Mexican Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe May 5, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — mylittlediversions @ 7:06 pm
Tags: , , , ,

So, as a Mexican girl who lives in Texas, I generally celebrate Cinco de Mayo, or as my younger sister has started calling it, Drink-o de Mayo. We usually celebrate by eating massive amounts of Mexican food and drinking cheap Mexican beer. Unfortunately this year Cinco de Mayo falls on a Thursday and I don’t really want to call into work tomorrow because of my gluttony today. So, this Cinco de Mayo I’ll just sit around, watch Community and Big Bang Theory and drink a little. If I really felt like doing something I would probably make a Mexican Chocolate Pound Cake.

I first found this recipe in a Southern Living magazine and the day after I found it I made the cake. Now, pound cake has always been one of my favorite deserts and this is a great version!

Here is the mouth-watering recipe:

2 (4.4-oz.) packages Mexican chocolate, chopped*
1 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
4 large eggs
1/2 cup chocolate syrup
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 cup buttermilk
Garnish: powdered sugar

1. Microwave chocolate  in a microwave-safe bowl at HIGH 1 minute and 15 seconds or until chocolate is melted and smooth, stirring every 15 seconds.

2. Beat butter at medium speed with an electric mixer 2 minutes or until creamy. Gradually add sugar, beating 5 to 7 minutes or until light and fluffy. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating just until yellow disappears after each addition. Stir in melted chocolate, chocolate syrup, and vanilla until smooth.

3. Combine flour and next 2 ingredients; add to butter mixture alternately with buttermilk, beginning and ending with flour mixture. Beat at low speed just until blended after each addition. Pour batter into a greased and floured 10-inch tube pan or a 12-cup Bundt pan.

4. Bake at 325° for 1 hour and 10 minutes or until a long wooden pick inserted in center of cake comes out clean. Cool in pan on a wire rack 10 to 15 minutes; remove from pan to a wire rack, and let cool 1 hour and 30 minutes or until completely cool. Garnish, if desired.

*1 (8-oz.) package semisweet chocolate baking squares, chopped, may be substituted for Mexican chocolate. Add  2 tsp ground cinnamon with flour, and proceed with recipe as directed. For testing purposes only, we used Nestlé Abuelita Mexican Chocolate.

I hope you enjoy this delicious cake as much as I did!

Happy Cinco de Mayo,

–Aly

 

2 Responses to “Cinco de Mayo-Mexican Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe”

  1. lovely recipe:)
    Please stop by and say hi.
    xoxo
    bB

    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  2. Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention that
    I’ve really enjoyed browsing your weblog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I’m
    hoping you write once more very soon!


Leave a Reply

